Indonesian badminton athletes advance to Singapore Open final

Jakarta (ANTARA) – Three Indonesian athletes advanced to the final of the 2019 Singapore Open badminton tournament which will take place today at the Singapore Indoor Stadium, Singapore.

Citing the official BWF page, the three players were from two categories, namely men’s single and men’s doubles. From the men’s single , Indonesia is represented by Anthony Sinisuka Ginting who will face Japanese badminton player Kento Momota.

In the semifinal round yesterday (13/4), the man who was more familiarly called Ginting successfully beat Chinese Taipei player Chou Tien Chen in three games lasting for 1 hour 19 minutes, 21-17, 18-21 and 21-14.

Furthermore, from the men’s double, Mohammad Ahsan / Hendra Setiawan will face opponent Takeshi Kamura / Keigo Sonoda from Japan.

Before stepping into the top match, Ahsan / Hendra first beat the pair Li Junhui / Liu Yuchen from China 21-11 and 21-14 in 29 minutes.

Two other Indonesian players were beaten in the semifinals. Both were mixed doubles with Hafiz Faisal / Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja defeated by Malaysian pair Tan Kian Meng / Lai Pei Jing 16-21, 22-20 and 20-22 and men’s doubles Marcus Fernaldi Gideon / Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo which were conquered 21-13, 10-21 and 19-21 by Takeshi Kamura / Keigo Sonoda from Japan.

In addition to Ginting and Ahsan / Hendra, several badminton players from other countries will also compete in the top game.

Female singles will bring together Tai Tzu Ying from Taipei, China with Nozomi Okuhara from Japan.

In women’s doubles, Japanese pair Mayu Matsumoto / Wakana Nagahara will face South Korean pair Kim Hye Jeong / Kong Hee Yong, while in mixed doubles, Dechapol Puavaranukroh / Sapsiree Taerattanachai of Thailand will fight Tan Kian Meng / Lai Pei Jing of Malaysia.

The 2019 Singapore Open runs from 9 to 14 April 2019 at the Singapore Indoor Stadium, Singapore. The total prize contested in the Super 500 level tournament reached 355,000 US dollars.

The final round match will be held on Sunday (4/14) starting at 1 p.m. local time.

Source: ANTARA News