Bank Mandiri becomes main sponsor for 2023 FIBA World Cup


State-owned Bank Mandiri officially became the main sponsor for the 2023 FIBA World Cup for the Indonesian region that will be held from August 25 to September 10, 2023.

The sponsor cooperation inking was done by Bank Mandiri’s Institutional Relations Director Rohan Hafas and Indonesia 2023 FIBA World Cup’s Joint Management Committee (JMC) Head Cahyadi Wanda here on Tuesday.

The JMC is the organizer handling the entire marketing aspect between the FIBA World Cup and the host.

At a press conference here on Tuesday, Wanda noted that through this cooperation, Bank Mandiri will have access to the main commercial rights to the 2023 FIBA World Cup.

“By becoming a partner, the entire commercial, branding, or intellectual property aspects will be obtained by Bank Mandiri,” he stated.

“There are so many pre-events, such as the one-year countdown and mascot unveiling. All of these, I believe, require support,” he affirmed.

This is the first time that Bank Mandiri unveils a local sponsor, he pointed out.

“This is a huge opportunity, and it is not certain that we will hold a world championship within the next several years,” he remarked.

Meanwhile, Bank Mandiri President Director Darmawan Junaidi stated that the bank’s participation to become the 2023 FIBA World Cup sponsor is their long-term commitment to supporting the development of the nation’s basketball sports.

This is not the first time that Bank Mandiri has become a sponsor for sports activities. The state-run bank had earlier become a sponsor for the Indonesian national basketball team and 2022 FIBA Asia Cup.

“Currently, Bank Mandiri is known as a company that supports the advancement and development of basketball sports nationally,” Junaidi stated.

“To this end, the moment that Indonesia became the host for this world basketball championship turned out to an important opportunity for Bank Mandiri to be better known at a higher stage,” he affirmed.

For the first time, the 2023 FIBA World Cup will be held in three host nations: the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia.

Moreover, the event will involve teams from 32 nations that will compete for the world championship title and the Naismith Trophy.

Source: Antara News