Asian Games – huge number of people in Parapat welcome Asian Games torch

Simalungun, N. Sumatra (ANTARA News) – Tens of thousands of people thronged the Parapat Free Beach in North Sumatra Provincial District of Simalungun on Wednesday to welcome the 18th Asian Games flame torch.

The procession of torch relay started from the guesthouse of former Indonesian president Soekarno, as far as 7.4 kilometers by land, to the Parapat Free Beach, Lake Toba, in Girsang Sipangan Bolon Subdistrict, which became the center of activity.

The cities of Jakarta and Palembang will co-host the Asias largest sports event from Aug 18 to Sept 2, 2018.

A total of 16,920 athletes and officials from 45 Asian countries have been registered for the Games. Overall, more than 11 thousand athletes will vie for medals in 40 sports and 67 disciplines.

The torch, which was paraded by the regent of Simalungun, JR Saragih, vice regent H Amran Sinaga, and elements of regional leadership and athletes, also crossed the waters of Lake Toba on 11 passenger ships.

People from the 32 sub-districts of Simalungun District, including hundreds of students waving the red and white flags, were seen along the route of the torch bearers while shouting the word “Indonesia.”

The community was invited to provide support to the Indonesian contingent to showcase best performance and make the sport activities successful.

The torch parade is also expected to be a turning point for the increase in tourism activities after the ship accident in Lake Toba on June 18, 2018.

The torch parade committee of North Sumatra Province expressed happiness in welcoming the government and citizens of Simalungun District in three different locations.

“More than ten thousand people were present to welcome the sport activities,” head of the organization affairs of the National Sports Committee (KONI) of North Sumatras chapter stated.

The torch relay began in Yogyakarta on July 17 and will end in Jakarta on Aug 17, a day before the Asian Games 2018 would be officially opened by President Joko Widodo.

The torchs route includes Solo, Central Java Province; Blitar, Malang, Probolinggo, and Banyuwangi in East Java; Gilimanuk, Kuta, and Denpasar in Bali Province; Mataram in West Nusa Tenggara; Raja Ampat and Sorong in West Papua; Makassar in South Sulawesi; Banjarmasin in South Kalimantan; Banda Aceh in Aceh Province; Lake Toba in North Sumatra; Pekanbaru in Riau; Bukit Tinggi in West Sumatra; Jambi, Palembang, Banyuasin, and Prabumulih in South Sumatra; Bandar Lampung in Lampung; Serang in Banten; and Purwakarta, Bandung, Garut, Cianjur, and Bogor in West Java.

Source: ANTARA News