Aceh Governor thanks President Jokowi for attending his inauguration

Banda Aceh, Aceh (ANTARA News) – Aceh Governor Irwandi Yusuf has expressed gratitude to President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) and First Lady Iriana for attending his swearing-in ceremony and inauguration as the governor of the westernmost Indonesian province.

“Our thank goes to Mr. President Jokowi who has attended the inauguration of Aceh governor and vice governor for the 2017-2022 term,” Irwandi Yusuf said here on Wednesday.

He made the remarks on the sidelines of the special plenary session of the Aceh House of Representatives (DPRA) where he and Nova Iriansyah were sworn in and inducted as Aceh governor and vice governor respectively.

The presence of President Jokowi in the swearing-in ceremony was an honor for the people of Aceh province, he said.

“For the first time ever, the President attended the inauguration of regional head. This is not found elsewhere in the country. Aceh is part of his heart,” he said.

President Jokowi and First Lady Iriana congratulated Irwandi Yusuf and Nova Iriansyah on their inauguration as new governor and vice governor of Aceh Province for the 2017-2022 term.

Jokowi and Iriana arrived at the Aceh House of Representatives (DPRA) building at around 10:35 a.m. local time. Upon arrival at the building, they were greeted by Home Affairs Minister Tjahjo Kumolo, Aceh Governor Irwandi Yusuf, Aceh Vice Governor Nova Iriansyah, Chief of the Aceh DPR Muharuddin, Chief of the Peoples Consultative Assembly Zulkifli Hasan, former Aceh governor Zaini Abdullah, and former Aceh vice governor Muzakir Manaf.

After congratulating Yusuf and Iriansyah as Acehs new governor and vice governor, the president and first lady left the main room of the DPR building where Yusuf and Iriansyah were sworn in and inaugurated during a special plenary meeting.

Kumolo, on behalf of President Jokowi, inaugurated Yusuf and Iriansyah as Aceh governor and vice governor before the Sharia Court.

Chairman of the DPR Aceh Muharuddin led the swearing-in and inauguration ceremony during the special plenary session at the DPRA building.

Yusuf and Iriansyah were elected as Aceh governor and vice governor after winning the majority vote in the gubernatorial election on February 15, 2017.

They were nominated by the Democrat Party, Aceh National Party, Aceh Peace Party, the National Awakening Party, and the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle.

Yusuf was once Aceh governor for the 2007-2012 term, while Iriansyah was a former member of the DPR for the 2009-2014 term.

Source: Antara News